Villar, Zwanziger to get FIFA executive roles

Spanish football leader Angel Maria Villar will be unopposed to continue as a FIFA vice president, UEFA said on Friday.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 28 Jan 2011, 7:21 PM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 7:14 PM

UEFA said no candidate came forward to challenge Villar for another four-year term representing Europe on FIFA’s executive committee.

Villar has served on the 24-member FIFA ruling panel since 1998 and was a central — often polarizing — figure in the failed Spain-Portugal bid to host the 2018 World Cup, which was awarded to Russia last month.

German football federation president Theo Zwanziger also will be unopposed to fill a FIFA seat being vacated by former West Germany great Franz Beckenbauer. He is standing aside for family reasons after serving a single four-year term.

The 61-year-old Villar and 65-year-old Zwanziger will be confirmed at the UEFA Congress on March 22 in Paris. Their FIFA terms are scheduled to start at its May 31-June 1 congress in Zurich.

The 53-nation UEFA meeting also will acclaim Michel Platini unopposed as president, and FIFA vice president, for a second term.

UEFA has eight delegates in the FIFA high command and a fourth is decided this year. The FIFA vice presidency reserved for the four British nations is being handed on from Englishman Geoff Thompson to Jim Boyce of Northern Ireland.

UEFA also revealed Friday that three former World Cup players who now lead their national federations are seeking to join its own 16-member executive body.

Grzegorz Lato, the Polish forward who scored at three straight tournaments from 1974-82; Ivan Hasek, who captained Czechoslovakia to the quarterfinals in 1990; and Borislav Mihaylov, goalkeeper on Bulgaria’s 1994 semifinalists, will compete for one of seven seats up for election in Paris.

Six current executive members — Villar, Grygoriy Surkis of Ukraine, Senes Erzik of Turkey, Portugal’s Gilberto Madail, Mircea Sandu of Romania and Lithuanian Liutauras Varanavieius — are seeking re-election. Joseph Mifsud of Malta is retiring.

Lato, Hasek and Mihaylov are joined by four more potential newcomers: Francois De Keersmacker of Belgium, Norman Darmanin Demajo from Malta, Russian football president Sergey Fursenko and Switzerland’s Peter Gillieron.

No female candidates have been nominated.

More news from