Dubai Globe Soccer Awards: Kylian Mbappe named player of the year

Top Stories

Kylian Mbappe receives the best men's player of the year award. (Photo by Shihab)
Kylian Mbappe receives the best men's player of the year award. (Photo by Shihab)

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski took home the Fans' Player of the Year award


Rituraj Borkakoty

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Mon 27 Dec 2021, 10:44 PM

Kylian Mbappe was showered with the highest accolade in Dubai on Monday evening. The French World Cup winner, famous for his lightning-quick feet and predatory instincts in front of the goal, was named the Men’s Player of the Year at the Dubai Globe Soccer Awards.

Just three months after France’s Euro 2020 heartbreak, Mbappe rose to the challenge, scoring in the second half against Spain in a dramatic final to earn Les Bleus the Uefa Nations League title.

Mbappe was also prolific in the 2020-2021 season at the club level, scoring 42 goals for PSG.

The 23-year-old Frenchman was delighted after receiving the coveted trophy in a star-studded ceremony that also saw Robert Lewandowski take home the Fans’ Player of the Year award.

“It’s a big pleasure to be here in Dubai and it’s also a big pleasure to see all the big players here, big legends, big names in football. It’s a big achievement for me (to win this award),” Mbappe said.

“I want to say thank you to my club, Paris Saint-Germain, for believing in me, to the national team and to all those people who have helped me a lot.

“Also, thanks to my family who are always there for me. It’s a big motivation to keep working hard and come back next year to win more titles individually and collectively.”

Mbappe, who became the youngest player to score 30 Champions League goals earlier this month, then revealed that his biggest ambition is to become one of the greatest players in history.

“It (motivation) is always the same, I want to write the history of football,” he said.

“I want to be hungry every year, I want to win every year. I have to work hard every single day because you have so many good players in the world. I am one of them and I want to be so much better every day.”

Meanwhile, for Bayern Munich striker Lewandowski, it was an emotional moment to get the Fans’ Player of the Year award.

“I want to say thank you to all the fans who voted for me and who supported me every single day. It means a lot. The last year, playing without the fans, was so difficult, it was a big challenge for us. I know what it means to play in front of the fans. So this award is something special,” said the 33-year-old Lewandowski.

“I also want to say thank you to my wife and my beautiful daughter who gives me so much happiness even after I come back from a bad match. That gives me more power to do better in the next match.”

The Poland captain also won the Diego Maradona trophy for being the most prolific striker last season.

Lewandowski scored 41 goals last season to break Gerd Müller’s long-standing Bundesliga record of 40 goals. The legendary Germany striker had set the record in 1971–1972.

“This award is named after Diego Armando Maradona, so it means a lot to me,” Lewandowski said.

“For me as a striker, to be in the right position at the right time is always important. My goals are also because of my teammates. Without them, it will be difficult to score so many goals.”

Italy won the international team of the year for their stunning Euro 2020 triumph and their manager, Roberto Mancini, took home the coach of the year award.


Best Men’s Player of the Year

Kylian Mbappe (France)

Maradona Award for Best Goal Scorer of the Year

Robert Lewandowski (Poland)

TikTok Fans’ Player of the Year

Robert Lewandowski (Poland)

Top Goal Scorer of All Time

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Best Women’s Player of the Year

Alexia Putellas (Spain)

Best Men’s Club of the Year


Best Women’s Club of the Year


Best Defender of the Year

Leonardo Bonucci (Italy)

Best Goalkeeper of the Year

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy)

Best Coach of the Year

Roberto Mancini (Italy)

Best National Team of the Year


Best Agent of the Year

Federico Pastorello

Best Sporting Director of the Year

Txiki Begiristain

Best Esports Player of the Year

Aldossary “Msdossary7” Mossad

Player Career Award

Ronaldinho (Brazil)

More news from