School calendar for next academic year approved

The academic year 2014-2015 will end on Thursday, July 9, 2015, the last day for all administrative, teaching and technical staff at schools.



By (Wam)

Published: Wed 26 Mar 2014, 12:40 AM

Last updated: Fri 3 Apr 2015, 5:27 PM

Humaid bin Mohammed Obaid Al Qattami, Minister of Education, on Monday approved the school calendar for the academic year 2014-2015. Schools are scheduled to reopen on Sunday, August 24, 2014 when the teaching, administrative and technical staff will report back to work.

The announcement stated that the academic year 2014-2015 will end on Thursday, July 9, 2015, which will be the last day for all administrative, teaching and technical staff at schools. The announcement comes in line with the instructions of the ministerial council for services and what the latter had endorsed regarding unification of school and university vacations.

According to the ministerial decree passed on Monday, pupils at kindergartens, elementary and secondary schools shall go back to schools on Sunday, August 31, 2014, and the school year will end on Thursday, July 25, 2015.

While schools will close for the trimester break on Sunday, December 21, 2014, they will reopen on Thursday, January 1, 2015. The second trimester break shall commence on Sunday, March 29, 2015 and will end on Thursday, April 9, 2015.

The decree indicated that all public schools, private schools that follow the ministry’s curriculum and the foreign curriculum, Adults Education Centres, and Applied Technology High Schools should be following the three-term scheme.


More news from Education