Enjoy our faster App experience

West Indies win toss and bat against Pakistan

JOHANNESBURG - Stand-in West Indies captain Floyd Reifer won the toss and elected to bat first in the Champions Trophy match against Pakistan on Wednesday.

By (Reuters)

Published: Wed 23 Sep 2009, 6:36 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 8:48 AM

West Indies are fielding a second-string team after most of their top players made themselves unavailable due to a contractual dispute with the board.

Pacemen Tino Best and Darren Sammy and batsman Devon Smith are the most well-known players in their team.

Pakistan will be captained by Shahid Afridi after regular skipper Younus Khan was forced out of the game due to a hairline fracture of a little finger.

Pakistan - Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Misbah ul-Haq, Mohammad Yousuf, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Rana Naved ul-Hasan, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Aamer

West Indies - Dale Richards, Andre Fletcher, Devon Smith, Travis Dowlin, Floyd Reifer, David Bernard, Darren Sammy, Chadwick Walton, Nikita Miller, Tino Best, Gavin Tonge.

More news from Cricket