Wayanad face Kannur

DUBAI — Dunes Kannur Veerans will face Trotters Wayanad Highlanders in the Capital Kerala Premier League final at the ICC Global Cricket Academy ground on Friday. The match starts at 4.30pm.

By Adur Pradeep

Published: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 12:20 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 11:42 AM

The winner will get a prize money of Dh60,000, while the runner-up will take home Dh30,000.

UAE cricket team vice-captain Amjad Javed was the star of the second semi-final as his all-round performance helped Dunes post a comprehensive eight-wicket victory over Yogi Group Thrissur Dynamites on Wednesday night.

Yogi, one of the top teams in the domestic scene, couldn’t get going and were dismissed for 118 in 19.4 overs.

“It was a good team performance. We have four UAE players in our team. The current captain Khurram Khan, me, Arshad Ali and Saqib Ali – all of us had a good game,” Javed told Khaleej Times.

Javed sent back both the Thrissur openers Faizan Asif and Swapnil Patil after the duo added 31 runs in less than five overs. From there on, Dunes had a firm grip on the proceedings as they went on to restrict the opposition for a below par score.

Shaiman Butt, who has been in outstanding form throughout the tournament, did try to rescue the innings with a breezy 40 with the help of three fours and a six, but he didn’t have support at the other end.

Khurram operated a tight line and took two wickets and Thrissur were reeling at 87 for 5 at that stage. Later Arshad Ali bagged two wickets in one over to curtail Yogi’s hopes for a revival. Then Irfan Haider and CTK Mashood polished off the tail in quick time.

Kannur had a sound opening while chasing with Arshad and Irfan adding 25 runs for the first wicket. Later Arshad too fell after making a composed 26. However, from there on, it was all Kannur as the Amjad- Saqib duo guided the team to the final with a resounding victory.

Amjad Javed smashed on six and seven fours in his 49-ball 57, while Saqib added 24 from 16 balls with the help of two sixes and a four.

KPL organizers said the ground opens for final by 4pm with various cultural activities with cheer leaders from different nationalities.

“Five KPL T shirts signed by the celebrities will be given to spectators at the venue during the final and 25 spectators will get a chance to take photograph with the celebrities,” a KPL statement said.

Brief scores: Dunes-Kannur Veerans beat Yogi Group-Thrissur Dynamites by 8 wickets

Yogi-Thrissur 118 all out in 19.4 overs ( Faizan Asif 29, Shaiman Butt 40, Arshad Ali 3 for 18, Amjad javed 2 for 17, Khurram Khan 2 for 28, Irfan Haider 2 for 12) Dunes-Kannur 122 for 2 wickets ( Arshad Ali 26, Amjad Javed 57 n.o., Saqib Ali 24 n.o.,)

Man of the match: Amjad Javed of Dunes-Kannur.


More news from Cricket