UBL Twenty20 champions

ABU DHABI - Safdar Niyazi came up with an all-round show as United Bank Limited (UBL) defeated Yogi Group in the final of the UBL Twenty20 Trophy at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium on Friday night.

By (James Jose)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Mon 23 May 2011, 1:09 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 7:30 AM

Niyazi 21 off 20 balls and later took two for 22 as UBL, consisting of seven UAE internationals, defeated Yogi, consisting of four UAE internationals, by 25 runs.

The tournament, organised in association with the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC), in which top teams of the UAE took part, was sponsored by UBL and was managed by the International Business Network Media Group. This was the third edition of the T20 format, and the fifth year that UBL has sponsored the tournament.

Qazi Ayub, the UBL captain won the toss and had no hesitation in making first use of the wicket. UBL were restricted to 142 in 19.4 overs with UAE international Naeemuddin Aslam clubbing 37 from 28 balls with three boundaries and a six before being caught by Nasir Aziz off Fayaq Ahmed.

Opener Amjad Ali, another UAE international, made 30 from 22 balls with the help of five boundaries. Safdar Niyazi scored 21 from 20 balls with two boundaries, while wicketkeeper and one-down Abdul Rehman made 16 from six balls with a boundary and a six.

Yogi Group’s UAE international Fayaz Ahmed returned with four wickets for 22, while Salman Faris, another UAE international, picked up two for 35.

Yogi Group were put to the mat in pursuit of the chase when they were reduced to six for the loss of two wickets in the opening over bowled by pacer Shoaib Sarwar. Sarwar removed opener Sayed Rashid Ahmed for six and one-down batsman and wicketkeeper Swapnil Patil, another UAE international, for nought.

But Yogi Group recovered from that hiccup and were going strong with Ayoub Inayat making an entertaining 52 from 38 balls with five boundaries and two sixes. But his innings was cut short by wicketkeeper Abdul Rehman, who pulled off a brilliant stumping, when Inayat tried to go for a reverse sweep and missed.

That was the breakthrough that UBL were looking for and they piled on the pressure and Yogi Group wilted. Yogi Group were shot out for 117 in 18.5 overs which gave UBL a 25-run win and the Trophy.

UBL captain Qazi Ayub, who had failed with the bat, scoring only two, made up for it by snapping up three for 17. Vignesh and Safdar Niyazi picked up two wickets each.

Safdar Niyazi was adjudged the Man of the Final.

Abdul Rehman of UBL, who scored 310 runs, was adjudged the Best Batsman of the Tournament. Ahmed Raza of UBL, who snapped up 21 wickets for 100 runs, won the Best Bowler award. Umair Qadeer, who scored 193 and claimed seven wickets for 110 runs, was adjudged the Man of the Tournament.

Brief scores: UBL: 142 all out in 19.4 overs (Naeeuddin Aslam 37, Amjad Ali 30, Safdar Niyazi 21, Abdul Rehman 16, Fayaz Ahmed 4-22, Salman Faris 2-35) beat Yogi Group: 117 all out in 18.5 overs (Ayoub Inayat 52, Mohammed Ajmal 19, Shaiman Butt 15, Qazi Ayub 3-17, Vignesh 2-22, Safdar Niyazi 2-22) by 25 runs.


More news from