Top Teams in Fray for UBL Twenty20 Trophy

ABU DHABI - United Bank Limited are placed in Group B, while strong contenders William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana are in Group D in the UBL T20 Cricket Trophy which begins from Friday.

By James Jose

Published: Sat 30 Jan 2010, 12:20 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:32 AM

There are 20 teams in the fray for the tournament and they have been divided into four groups, Inam-ul-Haq, general secretary of the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC), said on Monday.

The tournament has retained the popular Twenty20 format. All the games will be played at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium. There will be four games per week and 47 games are scheduled over 12 weeks of the tournament. It is the fourth year that UBL is sponsoring the tournament.

Wajahat Hussain, the president of the ADCC as well as the Senior Executive Vice-President of UBL, general manager Asad Burney and Dilawar Mani, the CEO of the Emirates Cricket Board and the president of the Abu Dhabi Cricket Club were present.

“The Abu Dhabi Cricket Council (ADCC) is delighted that UBL continues to support cricket. Last year, we changed it to the popular T20 format from 25 overs. This format creates some very exciting games. I thank Wajahat in coming forward and supporting cricket in the UAE. They have institutionalised the game. It is about community service and they have assisted in the academy and infrastructure. This ensures that the game continues to flourish in the UAE,” Mani said.teams

Group A: Yogi Group, Eurocon, UAE Exchange, ADAT, Royal Gymkhana.

Group B: Nissan Al Masaood, Seven Seas, Pal CC, RBS, United Bank Limited.

Group C: Classic, Brooke Bond, ADAS, Discount CC, Darwish.

Group D: Etihad Airways, Abu Dhabi Juniors, William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana, Daman, Abu Dhabi Warriors

More news from Cricket