Super Kings champions after a thrilling final

Top Stories

Chennai Super Kings proved to be second time lucky as they beat favourites Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in a thrilling final to become Indian Premier League champions at the D.Y. Patil Stadium.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Mon 26 Apr 2010, 12:50 AM

Last updated: Tue 28 Nov 2023, 9:50 AM

This was the second IPL final for the Super Kings, who lost the trophy to Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural season.

Deciding to bat, Super Kings riding on Suresh Raina's unbeaten 57 scored 168 for five in 20 overs.

Raina added 72 runs with Mahendra Singh Dhoni (22 off 15 balls) for the fourth wicket before using the long handle in final five overs that fetched Super Kings 60 runs. Dilhara Fernando was the pick of Mumbai bowlers with 2-23.

In reply, Mumbai Indians were off to a slow start with skipper Sachin Tendulkar, despite five stitches on his right hand, top scoring with a gutsy 48. Kieron Pollard who blazed off 27 in 10 balls, narrowed the gap but by then it was too late.

More news from Cricket