Sri Lanka wins toss, puts SAfrica in to bat

Top Stories

Sri Lanka wins toss, puts SAfrica in to bat

HAMBANTOTA, Sri Lanka — Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and put South Africa in to bat in a rain-shortened World Twenty20 match on Saturday.

By (AP)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 22 Sep 2012, 6:41 PM

Last updated: Fri 3 Apr 2015, 12:33 AM

The last Group C game was reduced to seven-overs-a-side after a delay of 2 ½ hours due to rain. It will be played in front of a sell-out crowd of 35,000 at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

Sri Lanka and South Africa have already qualified for the Super Eights after recording big victories over Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka defeated the African team by 82 runs while South Africa won by 10 wickets at the same venue.

Sri Lanka will be placed in Group 1 of Super Eights while South Africa will be in Group 2, and Saturday’s result will not affect the team’s placings in the next round.

Both teams made one change from the previous games. South Africa brought in batsman Faf du Plessis in place of spinner Robin Peterson.

Sri Lanka finger spinner Ajantha Mendis, who had a side strain after staggering performance of 6-8 against Zimbabwe, was replaced by leftarm spinner Rangana Herath.


South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Richard Levi, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Dale Steyn, Morne Morke.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga.

More news from