Sri Lanka win toss and bat against India

Sri Lanka win toss and bat against India

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat in the tri-series one-day international against India in Brisbane on Tuesday.

By (AFP)

Published: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 11:35 AM

Last updated: Tue 7 Apr 2015, 11:41 AM

India have made three changes to the side that went down to Australia by 110 runs on Sunday.

Captain M.S. Dhoni has been suspended after an over rate violation against Australia, while Zaheer Khan and Rohit Sharma have been rested.

Virender Sehwag comes in and will captain the side, Parthiv Patel is the new wicketkeeper in place of Dhoni and Ravi Ashwin has also been recalled.

Indian opener Sachin Tendulkar will play on Tuesday, giving him another chance to chase his elusive 100th international century.

Sri Lanka have kept the same line-up that defeated Australia in Sydney on Friday.

Severe thunderstorms and heavy rain have been predicted to lash Brisbane later in the afternoon.


Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Farveez Maharoof, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Ravi Ashwin, Irfan Pathan, Ranganath Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

More news from Cricket