Sri Lanka to field against N.Zealand

Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to field first in their Champions Trophy Group B match against New Zealand at the Wanderers on Sunday.

By (Reuters)

Published: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 1:42 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 8:49 AM

Sri Lanka made the surprise change of replacing veteran off spinner Muttiah Muralitharan with seamer Thilan Thushara, while New Zealand have brought in fast bowler James Franklin for batsman Gareth Hopkins.

Defeat for New Zealand would rule them out of semi-final contention completely while a loss for Sri Lanka would leave them reling on other results going their way to advance.


Sri Lanka - Sanath Jayasuriya, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilina Kandamby, Thilan Samaraweera, Angelo Mathews, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thilan Thushara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis.

New Zealand - Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Neil Broom, James Franklin, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Daryl Tuffey, Shane Bond.

More news from Cricket