Sri Lanka knock Australia out of Twenty20

Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan won the toss Monday and opted to field against Australia in the Twenty20 World Cup at Trent Bridge. Ajantha Mendis took three wickets as Sri Lanka restricted Australia to 159-9 and they knocked Australia out of the World Twenty20 on Monday after winning their group C match at Trent Bridge by six wickets.

By (AP)

Published: Mon 8 Jun 2009, 10:28 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 8:48 AM

Sri Lanka qualify for the Super Eights stage of the tournament along with West Indies who defeated Australia on Saturday.

Mendis took 3-20 in the game and despite a late rally from Mitchell Johnson (28 not out) and David Hussey (28), Australia faces elimination.

Sri Lanka’s athletic fielding and miserly bowling stifled Australia, whose innings got off to a wretched start when David Warner was caught by Tillakaratne Dilshan off Angelo Matthews for 0 with just one run on the board.

Captain Ricky Ponting joined Shane Watson and the duo put on 47 but that turned out to be the largest partnership of the innings.

Mendis removed both men in quick succession, bowling Ponting in the fifth over, then trapping Watson in the seventh.

Brad Haddin and Michael Clarke helped Australia limp to 70-3 after 10 overs, but with the final ball off the 11th over Haddin had two of his stumps ripped from the ground by Lasith Malinga.

Isuru Udana then took a stunning return catch to get rid of Clarke two overs later, to leave Australia reeling on 79-5

Michael Hussey was lbw to Mendis for just 1, but 21 runs came off the 16th over, as Mitchell Johnson and David Hussey smashed Muttiah Muralitharan all around the ground.

David Hussey was caught by Sanath Jayasuriya off Isuru Udana in the penultimate over and Brett Lee made 15 from five deliveries before he was bowled by Malinga with five balls left.

Nathan Hauritz was caught behind off Malinga from the penultimate ball, but Nathan Bracken fluked a boundary off the last delivery to set Sri Lanka a victory target of 160.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Nathan Hauritz.

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Muttiah Muralitharan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Jehan Mubarak, Chamara Silva, Angelo Mathews, Isuru Udana, Ajantha Mendis.

More news from Cricket