Sharjah to host inter-school T20 tourney

SHARJAH — An under-16 inter-school Twenty20 tournament, organised by the Sharjah Cricket Council under the auspices of the Emirates Cricket Board, will be played at Al Dhaid Village and Sharjah Stadium from May 20, a press release said.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 21 May 2010, 12:11 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:45 AM

Featuring 12 school teams from all over the country, the Twenty20 tournament forms an integral part of the council’s junior development programme, aimed at creating healthy playing opportunities for the budding talent.

There is no entry fee for the tournament, and the players will be provided with playing kits by the organisers during the eight-event, which offers a great opportunity for young players to hone their competitive edge on turf wickets. The teams have been divided in three groups, each comprising four teams. Two matches will be played every day at each venue before the knock-out stage when the action shifts to the Sharjah stadium. The final is slated for June 2, starting at 12.30pm.

Trophies will be presented to the winners and the runners-up, and there are prizes for the best batsman, best bowler and the player of the tournament.

All participating members will also be given a certificate acknowledging their role in making the tournament a success.

“The tournament offers an ideal springboard for the players to achieve bigger things, and even a place in the future UAE teams”, said Mazhar Khan of the Sharjah Cricket Council. “When it comes to talent, there is no dearth here in the UAE. All we need is to expose children to a good level of competition. Catching them young is the very intention behind organising this tournament.” The participating schools have been grouped as follows:

Group A: Emirates English Speaking School, Dubai; Gulf Asian School; Indian High School, Dubai; Delhi Private School, Jebel Ali.

Group B: Radian School, Sharjah; Our Own English School, Al Warqa; Al Ain Junior School; Al Taawan Private School, Abu Dhabi.

Group C: Our Own High School, Sharjah; Modern High School, Dubai; New Indian Model School, Sharjah; Delhi Private School, Sharjah.

More news from