Sampath hits century as NMC enter knockout round

ABU DHABI — Indika Sampath smashed a century to script NMC’s comprehensive 159-run win in the Carpetland Ramadan Cup Twenty20 tournament at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium on Wednesday night.

The victory, NMC’s third, put them in the knockout round of the tournament. NMC top Group C with six points and a game in hand.

The wicketkeeper and opening batsman smashed 17 fours and three sixes from 58 deliveries as NMC piled on a mammoth 264 for the loss of three wickets in their 20 overs.

Sampath shared a 149-run stand for the opening wicket with Niresh Fernando, who scored 50 off 23 balls, which was studded with six boundaries and three sixes.

UAE international Saqib Ali, who came one-down, too joined in by cracking a quick-fire 58 from 32 balls with five boundaries and two sixes.

In reply, Daman Insurance could only make 105 for the loss of five wickets in their 20 overs. Munawar Ali made 35 from 50 balls with three boundaries. Mohammed Kashif took two for 13.

In the other game of the night, William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana scored their third win to head Group A. They defeated Seven Seas Strikers by five wickets, with five balls to spare.

Seven Seas Strikers scored 126 for the loss of nine wickets in their 20 overs. Qadir Nawaz Khan made 33 from 25 balls with three boundaries and two sixes, while opener Mohammed Butta scored 25 from 24 balls with four boundaries.

Tahir Butt took two for 20, while Asim Khurshed took two for 31. Abdul Haq picked up two for 34.

William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana openers Irfan Haider (28) and Saqib Shah (22) put on 56 runs for the opening wicket and Haroon Iftikhar scored an unbeaten 34 from 40 balls with two boundaries.

William Hare Abu Dhabi Gymkhana got through in the last over.

Brief scores: NMC: 264 for 3 in 20 overs (Indika Sampath 117, Niresh Fernando 58, Saqib Ali 58, Asim Ijaz 22 n.o) beat Daman Insurance: 105 for 5 in 20 overs (Munawar Ali 35), Mohd. Kashif 2-13) by 159 runs.

Seven Seas Strikers: 126 for 9 in 20 overs (Qadir Nawaz Khan 33, Mohd. Butta 25, Tahir Butt 2-20, Asim Khurshed 2-31, Abdul Haq 2-34) lost to Abu Dhabi Gymkhana: 130 for 5 in 19.1 overs (Haroon Iftikhar 34 n.o, Irfan Haider 28, Saqib Shah 22) by 5 wickets.

More news from Cricket