Salala CC win First Challengers T20

UMM AL QUWAIN - Salala Cricket Club won the First Challengers Summer Twenty20 League defeating Phoenix Medicine by five wickets in the final played recently at Umm Al Quwain grounds.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Wed 27 Jul 2011, 11:59 PM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 6:32 PM

Qasim M of Salala played a stellar role for the winners providing an all-round performance to give his team a deserving victory.

The tournament, held under the supervision of the Emirates Cricket Board, and played under the auspices of the Ajman Cricket Council, was organised under the leadership of Mushtaq Ahmed Chowdhary.

Electing to bat first, Phoenix Medicine piled up 201 for the loss of eight wickets but Salala CC reached the target with three balls to spare losing five wickets.

Saifullah was the top scorer for Phoenix Medicine with a rapid-fire 44-ball 97. He hit 11 boundaries and belted five towering sixes but missed his century when he attempted to reach the ropes.

Wajahat Rehman scored 34 with the help of two fours and an equal number of sixes. He faced 25 balls before he returned to the pavilion. The rest of the batsmen failed to use the advantage provided by their openers by losing their wickets cheaply.

Late in the innings, however, Imran Khan and Aqib Malik consolidated Phoenix Medicine innings with some impromptu hitting. Both kept their wickets intact and saw their team cross the 200 mark.

While Imran hit a hurricane 45 from 25 balls and reached the ropes five times, Malik made a nine-ball 15 which included two fours.

Yacoob T was the most successful bowler for Salala Cc bagging four wickets whilst conceding 36 runs. Qasim claimed two wickets for 28 runs while Amir picked up two and gave away 41 runs.

With an asking rate of 10.1 per over, Qasim M gave Salala the required start for their chase of 202 for victory.

Qasim hit a rapid 26-ball 63 which included nine fours and three sixes.

Qasim lost his partners Yaqoob (11) and Rehan (15) but kept his team ahead of the required run rate. Salala slowed down a bit after losing two wickets.

But Masood then walked in and blasted the rival bowlers all over the field and remained at the crease till the winning run was hit in the third ball of the last over.

He hit an unbeaten 65 from 35 balls and reached the ropes eight times and over it twice.

Shabab contributed 33 from 18 deliveries and hit two fours and three sixes during his stay at the crease with Masood.

Imran Khan claimed two wickets for 39 runs fro the losers while Aqib Malik also bagged two for 49 runs.

Qasim of Salala CC was named the man of the final.

Ajaz Ahmed and Shahid Butt were the umpires for the final.

Brief scores: Salala CC beat Phoenix Medicine by five wickets. Phoenix Medicine 201 for 8 (Saifullah 97, Imran Khan 41*, Wajahat Rehman 34, Aqib Malik 15*; Yacoob 4-36, Amir 2-41). Salala CC 202 for 5 in 19.3 overs (Masood 65*, Qasim 63, Shahab 33; Imran Khan 2-39, Aqib Malik 2-49). Man of the final: Qasim M of Salala CC. Umpires: Ajaz Ahmed, Sahib Butt.

More news from