Parwatkar shines for Yogi Group

ABU DHABI — Ambey Parwatkar scored a half-century to guide Yogi Group to a three-wicket win over Phoenix Medicine in the Carpetland Ramadan Cup Twenty20 tournament at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium on Monday night.

In the other game, Nissan Al Masaood defeated Muroor Stars by six wickets.

Batting first, Phoenix Medicine were all out for 139 in 17.4 overs/ Shoaib Lagahri top scored with 37 from 31 balls with three boundaries and a six.

Opener Waseem Raja made 29 from 17 balls with the help of two boundaries and two sixes. Lower down, Shakeel Raja scored 27 from 21 balls with three sixes. Opener Haroon Ahmed made 24 from 20 balls with three boundaries.

Salman Faris took four wickets for 22, while Mohd. Rameez and Sadam Ali picked up two wickets each.

In reply, Yogi Group reached the target in 18.2 overs, losing seven wickets. Ambey Parwatkar scored 50 from 41 balls with five boundaries and two sixes, while Avadoot Amonkar made 25 from 14 balls with two boundaries and two sixes. Wicketkeeper-batsman Swapnil Patel scored 22 from 19 balls with three boundaries.

Shoaib Lagahri took three wickets for 19. In the other game, Muroor Stars opted to take first strike but couldn’t make the most of it as they were shot out for 99 in 18.4 overs. Naveed Ahmed made 22 from 20 balls with three boundaries and a six.

Zaheer Baig, Sikander Baig and Raziq Khan picked up two wickets each.

In reply, Nissan Al Masaood got home in 10.4 overs, losing four wickets.

Opener Raziq Khan scored 23 from 13 balls with the help of four boundaries and one six. Ghazanfar Ahmed made an unbeaten run-a-ball 22 which contained three boundaries.

Opener and wicketkeeper Sajit Kumara scored 19 from 13 balls with four boundaries. Sofiyaan Gul took two for 15.

Brief scores: Muroor Stars: 99 all out in 18.4 overs (Naveed Ahmed 22, Zaheer Baig 2-6, Sikander Baig 2-20, Raziq Khan 2-23) lost to Nissan Al Masaood: 101 for 4 in 10.4 overs (Raziq Khan 23, Ghazanfar Ahmed 22 n.o, Sajit Kumara 19, Sofiyaan Gul 2-15) by 6 wickets.

Phoenix Medicine: 139 all out in 17.4 overs (Shoaib Lagahri 37, Waseem Raja 29, Shakeel Raja 27, Haroon Ahmed 24, Salman Faris 4-22, Mohd. Rameez 2-12, Sadam Ali 2-30) lost to Yogi Group: 142 for 7 in 18.2 overs (Ambey Parwatkar 50, Avadoot Amonkar 25, Swapnil Patel 22, Shoaib Lagahri 3-19) by 3 wickets.

More news from Cricket