Nandakumar Shines as ADMA-OPCO Beat ADCO

Opener Jadhav Nandakumar scored a fine half-century to script ADMA-OPCOs win over ADCO in Division A of the 16th Inter-Oil Cricket Tournament 2010 at the Abu Dhabi Cricket Councils domestic grounds over the weekend.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Tue 9 Feb 2010, 12:05 AM

Last updated: Tue 27 Dec 2022, 10:38 AM

Thirteen teams from ADNOC Group of Companies are fighting for honours in the tournament which runs until April 3. The tournament is being organised by the Inter-Oil Cricket Committee (IOCC), for the ADNOC Group of Companies.

The finals will be held at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium.

Put into bat, ADMA-OPCO piled on a competitive 185 for the loss of seven wickets in their 25 overs. Opener Jadhav Nandakumar scored an impressive 81 from 72 balls, which was peppered with six boundaries and two sixes. No.5 batsman Wasim Rashid scored a quickfire 43 from 32 balls with four boundaries and a six.

Syed Humayun took two wickets conceding 14 runs for ADCO.

ADMA-OPCO then restricted ADCO to 124 for the loss of nine wickets in their 25 overs. Wickets fell at regular intervals as ADCO failed to put on a fight. Lower down the order Anwar Sameer made a run-a-ball 35 with a boundary and a six but that was not enough to pull them through.

Nandana Daminda did the damage, taking two wickets conceding just four runs in his three overs, while Khalid Mushtaq took 2 for 20. Tayyab Sattar too picked up two wickets.

The tournament is being played in two divisions –Division A and Division B. Division A consists of the stronger teams who compete for the Inter-Oil Cricket Championship.

The Division B teams will fight it out for the Inter-Oil Cricket trophy. The winners from Division B earn promotion to Division A for next years’ tournament.

Division A consists of defending champions ADNOC-Dist, Division B winners ADGAS, ESNAAD, NPCC, ADMA-OPCO, ADCO and GASCO.


The tournament is one of the richest in the region with a total prize money of Dh 60,000 and the trophies. The total prize money in Division A is Dh 26,000 and Division B is Dh 23,000.

More news from Cricket