Naeem Guides Petroleum Institute over Takreer in Inter-Oil Cricket Tournament

ABU DHABI — Opener Mohammed Naeem cracked an unbeaten and entertaining half-century to guide Petroleum Institute to a six-wicket win over Takreer in the 16th Inter-Oil Cricket Tournament 2010 at the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council’s (ADCC) domestic grounds over the weekend.

By James Jose

Published: Tue 16 Feb 2010, 12:06 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:31 AM

Thirteen teams from Adnoc Group of Companies are fighting for honours in the tournament which runs until April 3. The tournament is being organised by the Inter-Oil Cricket Committee (IOCC), for the Adnoc Group of Companies. The finals will be held at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium.

Opting to bat, Takreer posted 148 for the loss of six wickets in their 25 overs. One down Allan T D’Mello scored 37 from 31 balls with three boundaries and a six after openers Abdul Rauf and Syed Faraz fell for nine and 16 respectively.

No.5 batsman Mohammed Naseer made an unbeaten 38 from 25 balls wih four boundaries. M Muzaffar Umer took two wickets for 17.

In reply, Petroleum Institute were led by an unbeaten 82 from Mohammed Naeem. He clubbed seven sixes and four boundaries in his 55-ball knock. Mushfiq Shahriay scored a run-a-ball 19 with three boundaries, while Muzaffar Umer made 20 from 10 balls with two boundaries and a six.

Takreer’s Mohammed Naseer’s all-round show went in vain. He made an unbeaten 38 and took three wickets for 29.

Mohammed Naeem was adjudged the Man of the Match.

The tournament is being played in two divisions –Division A and Division B. Division A consists of the stronger teams who compete for the Inter-Oil Cricket Championship. The Division B teams will fight it out for the Inter-Oil Cricket trophy. The winners from Division B earn promotion to Division A for next years’ tournament.

Division A consists of defending champions Adnoc-Dist, Division B winners Adgas, Esnaad, NPCC, Adma-Opco, Adco and Gasco. Division B has Takreer, Adnoc HQ, Borouge, Zadco, the Petroleum Institute and DC.

More news from