India 138 all out in second Sri Lanka ODI

Top Stories

India 138 all out in second Sri Lanka ODI

HAMBANTOTA, Sri Lanka — Pacemen Thisara Perera and Angelo Mathews each bagged three wickets as Sri Lanka dismissed India for 138 in the second one-day international in Hambantota on Tuesday.

By (AFP)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Tue 24 Jul 2012, 6:08 PM

Last updated: Fri 3 Apr 2015, 12:06 AM

Perera finished with 3-19 and Mathews with 3-14 to boost their team’s hopes of levelling the five-match series after India elected to bat in windy conditions.

Opener Gautam Gambhir top-scored with a 96-ball 65 for India, who won the opening one-dayer by 21 runs on Saturday. He was the last man out, caught behind off fast bowler Lasith Malinga after hitting four boundaries.

Ravichandran Ashwin (21), opener Virender Sehwag (15) and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni (11) were the others to reach double-figures in a dismal Indian batting performance.

The Sri Lankan pacemen were backed by wicket-keeper Kumar Sangakkara, who held four catches.

Perera jolted India when he grabbed three wickets, including those of the previous match’s main scorers Sehwag and Virat Kohli (one), in his opening three overs without conceding a run.

Kohli had made an impressive 106 and Sehwag a brisk 96 on Saturday.

Perera struck in his first over when he held a superb return catch to dismiss Sehwag and then had Kohli caught behind to put pressure on India.

Mathews reduced India to 38-3 when he bowled Rohit Sharma for no score before Perera removed Suresh Raina (one) for his third wicket.

India retained the side which won the first match while Sri Lanka replaced injured paceman Nuwan Kulasekara with debutant seamer Isuru Udana, who conceded 16 runs in his opening over, including five wides.

The last three matches will be played in Colombo (July 28 and 31) and Pallekele (August 4).

The one-day series will be followed by a one-off Twenty20 international in Pallekele on August 7.



G. Gambhir c Sangakkara b Malinga 65

V. Sehwag c and b Perera 15

V. Kohli c Sangakkara b Perera 1

R. Sharma b Mathews 0

S. Raina b Perera 1

MS Dhoni c Sangakkara b Mathews 11

Irfan Pathan c Perera b Malinga 6

R. Ashwin run out 21

Zaheer Khan lbw b Herath 2

P. Ojha c Sangakkara b Mathews 5

U. Yadav not out 0

Extras (b2, lb4, w5) 11

Total (for all out; 33.3 overs) 138

Fall of wickets: 1-31 (Sehwag), 2-33 (Kohli), 3-38 (Sharma), 4-41 (Raina), 5-60 (Dhoni), 6-79 (Pathan), 7-107 (Ashwin), 8-113 (Zaheer), 9-132 (Ojha), 10-138 (Gambhir).

Bowling: Malinga 7.3-0-36-2, Udana 6-0-42-0 (w5), Perera 8-3-19-3, Mathews 7-2-14-3, Herath 5-0-21-1.

Toss: India

Umpires: Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI) and Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

More news from