Bangladesh wins toss, elects to field in T20

Top Stories

Bangladesh wins toss, elects to field in T20

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and opted to bowl first in the group D match against New Zealand at Pallekele stadium on Friday.

By (AFP)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 21 Sep 2012, 3:50 PM

Last updated: Fri 3 Apr 2015, 12:33 AM

Bangladesh included both left-armers Abdur Razzak and Elias Sunny with spin all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan as they look to exploit New Zealand’s weakness against slow bowlers in the first match of a group which also has former champions Pakistan.

New Zealand received positive news as their frontline players Rob Nicol, Daniel Vettori and Tim Southee were all declared fit after suffering from stomach problems earlier this week.

Top two teams from each of the four groups will qualify for the Super Eights round.

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (capt), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Brendon McCullum, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Jacob Oram, Nathan McCullum, Daniel Vettori, Kyle Mills, Tim Southee.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Mohammad Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Elias Sunny, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shafiul Islam.

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Graeme La Brooy (SRI)

More news from