Baber shines as Ibsons win

SHARJAH — Baber Malik smashed a brilliant half-century to lead Ibsons CC to a convincing five-wicket victory over Yogi Group in the 36th Ten Sports Bukhatir League A Division Tournament, organised by the Sharjah Cricket Council, at the Sharjah stadium, a press release informed.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 22 May 2010, 12:21 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 2:45 AM

The experienced batsman hit 55 off 43 balls with eight fours and one six as Ibsons CC, chasing 203 for victory, achieved the target in just 31.1 overs. Yogi Group, batting first, played below their expectations, and were bowled out for 202 in the 44th over. Former Mumbai Ranji Trophy player Swapnil Patil lent some respectability to the score with a solid innings of 55 off 75 balls which included three fours. Bilal Murtaza (46 off 62 balls with three fours and two sixes) and Salman Faris (43 not out off 41 balls with four fours and one six) were the other major scorers, but Yogi Group still fell well short of their intended target. All Ibsons bowlers were spot on and never allowed the Yogi Group batsmen to settle into a good rhythm. Pervaiz Nazir was the most economical bowler, conceding just 20 runs for his two-wicket haul while Mohammed Tanveer, Jamshed and Umer Shah also picked two wickets each to restrict their opponents to a modest score.

Ibsons CC, in reply, batted with conviction to see off the Yogi Group attack. Baber Malik set the tone of their innings with a fine half-century. And then Shafiq (42 off 37 balls with six fours), Ayub Inayat (38 off 26 balls with two fours and three sixes) and Tanverr (36 off 53 balls with five fours) ensured Ibsons romp home without much fuss. Kamran and Ambey took two wickets each, but Ibsons batsmen went about their task in great fashion to suffocate Yogi Group’s hopes.

More news from