Amjad Ali hits century as
UBL beat Muroor Stars

ABU DHABI — Opener Amjad Ali’s swashbuckling unbeaten century helped UBL defeat Muroor Stars in the Carpetland Ramadan Cup Twenty20 tournament at the Shaikh Zayed International Cricket Stadium on Thursday night. UBL won by 56 runs.

In the other game of the night, Brooke Bond Unilever beat ADFC by five wickets.

Opting to bat, UBL posted a competitive 211 for no loss in their 20 overs. Opener Amjad Ali cracked an unbeaten 121 from 62 balls, which was peppered with 13 boundaries and five sixes. The other opener Nasir Siddiqui smashed an unbeaten 84 from 60 balls which was laced with nine boundaries and a six.

In reply, Muroor Stars could only muster 155 for the loss of seven wickets in their 20 overs. Opener Nazar Hussain top scored with 51 from 32 balls with the help of nine boundaries. Wajid Hussain scored 35 from 39 balls with three boundaries.

UBL captain Qazi Ayub took three for 13, while Kifayat Hussain picked up two for 33.

In the other match, ADFC, taking first strike, were all out for 153 in their 20 overs. Opener Amith Nair made 32 from 21 balls with six boundaries. The other opener Gangadurai scored 33 from 38 balls with two boundaries before retiring hurt.

Wasim Rashid took three for 29, while Agnelo Gomes took two for 25.

Brooke Bond Unilever reached the target with four balls to spare, losing five wickets. Opener Iftikhar Ali laid the foundation with 52 from 44 balls with the help of eight boundaries. MS Aiyappa scored 33 from 28 balls with four boundaries. Pratap Bose took them home with an unbeaten 22 from nine balls with three boundaries and a six. Mohd. Jahangeer took two for 30.

Brief scores:

ADFC: 153 all out in 20 overs (Gangadurai 33 retired hurt, Amith Nair 32, Wasim Rashid 3-29, Agnelo Gomes 2-25) lost to Brooke Bond Unilever: 158 for 5 in 19.2 overs (Iftikhar Ali 52, MS Aiyappa 33, Pratap Bose 22, Mohd. Jahangeer 2-30) by 5 wickets.

UBL: 211 for no loss in 20 overs (Amjad Ali 121 n.o, Nasir Siddiqui 84 n.o) beat Muroor Stars: 155 for 7 in 20 overs (Nazar Hussain 51, Wajid Hussain 35, Qazi Ayub 3-13, Kifayat Hussain 2-33) by 56 runs.

More news from Cricket