Covid-19 update: Sri Lanka bans travellers from 6 African nations

The suspension goes into effect from Monday

By Reuters

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Reuters file
Reuters file

Published: Sat 27 Nov 2021, 12:50 PM

Sri Lanka said on Saturday it was barring travellers from six Southern African countries on Saturday over concerns about the new Omicron variant of Covid-19.

From Monday, travellers will not be allowed into the country from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho and Eswatini, Colombo said in a statement.

Travellers who arrived from these six countries over the past two days will have to undergo mandatory 14 days quarantine.

The World Health Organisation on Friday declared the new coronavirus variant to be "of concern".


It was first reported to the WHO from South Africa on Wednesday and has been identified in Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong and Israel.

More news from