Covid-19 Omicron variant: Kerala announces quarantine for arrivals from 'at-risk' countries

State to remain cautious, will strengthen airport surveillance, says health minister Veena George

By Web Desk

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories

Published: Sun 28 Nov 2021, 9:18 AM

Last updated: Sun 28 Nov 2021, 5:18 PM

Kerala will impose mandatory quarantine and other stringent travel protocols on travellers arriving from the 'at-risk' list of countries specified by the Indian Central government.

The nations currently on India’s at-risk list are – European countries, including the UK, South Africa, Brazil, Bangladesh, Botswana, China, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Singapore, Hong Kong and Israel.

In response to the Omicron variant (B.1.1.529) of Covid-19, State Health Minister Veena George announced to Media persons on Saturday that Kerala has adopted several preventive measures to combat its spread.


According to a press release issued by the state’s Information and Public Relations Department, George said, “The State has taken steps as per the guidelines issued by the Centre. Kerala will strengthen surveillance at all airports. Currently, there is no cause for concern, but everyone should strictly follow the Covid-19 guidelines.”

The statement added, “Everyone should be careful and use masks and maintain social distance. Those who have not been vaccinated should get vaccinated as soon as possible.”

The Minister also said the health department had held various review meetings to strengthen preventive measures.

According to the central guidelines, all passengers arriving in the country from abroad should undergo an RT-PCR test within 72 hours and upload it in the Air Suvidha portal.

Test samples will be collected for an RT-PCR test after the quarantine as well.

The suspected samples of the passengers coming from these countries would be sent for genetic testing for virus variants.

More news from