Covid-19: European Council lifts travel restrictions on select countries

Geneva - The list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and updated.

Follow us on Google News-khaleejtimes

By Wam

Published: Fri 18 Jun 2021, 7:57 PM

Last updated: Fri 18 Jun 2021, 8:07 PM

The European Council updated the list of countries, special administrative regions and other entities and territorial authorities for which travel restrictions should be lifted.

According to the Council, this list will continue to be reviewed every two weeks and, as the case may be, updated.

Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from June 18, 2021 member states should gradually lift the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries: Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and the United States of America.

China remains subject to confirmation of reciprocity.

Travel restrictions should also be gradually lifted for the special administrative regions of China Hong Kong and Macao. The condition of reciprocity for these special administrative regions has been lifted.

Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.

More news from