Covid-19: Saudi Arabia suspends travel from UAE, Pakistan, India among 20 countries

Riyadh - Ministry of Interior announced the move based on Health ministry's advice.

By Web Report

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram


Published: Tue 2 Feb 2021, 9:47 PM

Last updated: Tue 2 Feb 2021, 10:49 PM

Saudi Arabia on Tuesday suspended entry to the Kingdom from 20 countries, with the exception of diplomats, Saudi citizens, medical practitioners and their families, to help curb the spread of the Covid-19 coronavirus, the state news agency reported.

The temporary ban, effective from February 3, includes people arriving from:

- United Arab Emirates

- Argentina

- Germany

- United States

- Indonesia

- Britain

- South Africa

- France

- India

- Pakistan

- Egypt

- Lebanon

- Ireland

- Italy

- Brazil

- Portugal

- Turkey

- Sweden

- Switzerland

- Japan

A statement issued by the Ministry Of Interior said the suspension would be implemented from 9pm (10pm UAE time) on February 3.

The temporary suspension includes whoever comes from other countries if they passed through any of the 20 countries during the 14 days preceding the request to enter the Kingdom.

The source added that citizens, diplomats, health practitioners and their families coming from the aforementioned countries or those who transited any of those countries during the 14 days preceding their return to the Kingdom will enter the Kingdom in accordance with the precautionary measures imposed by the Ministry of Health.

The ministry said the decision was based on recommendations by Saudi health authorities.

The kingdom has recorded more than 367,800 cases and 6,370 deaths so far, the highest tally in the region. It saw daily infections fall from a peak above 4,000 in June to dip below the 100 mark in early January.

More news from