4 US Olympic champions nominated for FIFA award

Olympic gold medal winners Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd and Megan Rapinoe of the United States are among 10 candidates to be named FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year for 2012.

By (AP)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 25 Oct 2012, 8:28 PM

Last updated: Fri 3 Apr 2015, 8:46 AM

Wambach scored five goals at the London Games and Lloyd scored twice as the U.S. beat Japan 2-1 in the final.

Japan has three candidates, including 2011 winner Homare Sawa. Christine Sinclair of Canada, who led the Olympics with six goals, and five-time winner Marta of Brazil have also been nominated.

Pia Sundhage, who coached the U.S. Olympic team, and Norio Sasaki of Japan are among 10 candidates for the coach’s award.

Three-candidate shortlists are to be announced next month, with the winners to be named at FIFA’s annual gala in Zurich on Jan. 7.

More news from