Pakistan: New cabinet under PM Shehbaz Sharif sworn in; see full list of ministers

Sharif’s former political rivals are also part of his coalition government


  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Top Stories


Published: Tue 19 Apr 2022, 11:01 AM

Last updated: Tue 19 Apr 2022, 3:17 PM

The cabinet of Pakistan’s newly-elected prime minister, Shahbaz Sharif, was sworn in Tuesday during a brief ceremony.

Acting President Sadiq Sanjrani administered the oath to the 34 ministers at the white marble palace known as the Presidency in the capital, Islamabad. Sharif also attended the ceremony. His election April 11 ousted former prime minister Imran Khan.

Sharif’s former political rivals are also part of his coalition government.

Among prominent lawmakers who were inducted into the cabinet is Khawaja Mohammad Asif, a former defence minister and a member of the Pakistan Muslim League party. Several politicians from the party of former President Asif Ali Zardari are also part of the Cabinet, including Khursheed Shah and Sherry Rehman.

Sharif ousted Khan through a vote of no-confidence in the National Assembly, Pakistan’s lower house of parliament. Khan lost the grip on power after being deserted by his party allies and a key coalition partner earlier this month.

Since then, Khan has demanded new elections at rallies, saying the new government was imposed under a US conspiracy, a charge Washington has denied, and which the new government in Pakistan says was a pack of lies.

Here is the full list of ministers:

Federal ministers:

  • Khawaja Muhammad Asif (PML-N)
  • Ahsan Iqbal (PML-N)
  • Rana Sanaullah (PML-N)
  • Sardar Ayaz Sadiq (PML-N)
  • Rana Tanveer Hussain (PML-N)
  • Khurram Dastgir Khan (PML-N)
  • Marriyum Aurangzeb (PML-N)
  • Khawaja Saad Rafique (PML-N)
  • Miftah Ismail (PML-N)
  • Javed Latif (PML-N)
  • Riaz Hussain Pirzada (PML-N)
  • Murtaza Javed Abbasi (PML-N)
  • Azam Nazeer Tarar (PML-N)
  • Syed Khursheed Shah (PPP)
  • Syed Naveed Qamar (PPP)
  • Sherry Rehman (PPP)
  • Abdul Qadir Patel (PPP)
  • Shazia Marri (PPP)
  • Syed Murtaza Mahmud (PPP)
  • Sajid Hussain Turi (PPP)
  • Ehsan Ur Rehman Mazari (PPP)
  • Abid Hussain (PPP)
  • Asad Mahmood (MMA)
  • Abdul Wasay (MMA)
  • Abdul Shakoor (MMA)
  • Muhammad Talha Mahmood (JUI)
  • Aminul Haque (MQM-P)
  • Faisal Sabzwari (MQM-P)
  • Muhammad Israr Tareen (BAP)
  • Shahzain Bugti (JWP)
  • Tariq Bashir Cheema (PML-Q)

Ministers of state

  • Aisha Ghaus Pasha (PML-N)
  • Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju (PML-N)
  • Hina Rabbani Khar (PPP)

Advisers to the PM

  • Qamar Zaman Kaira (PPP)
  • Amir Muqam (PML-N)
  • Awn Chaudhry (PTI's Tareen group)


More news from