Orientation workshop on GCC eGovernment Award

DUBAI - Emirates eGovernment held an orientation workshop for the UAE federal and local government entities on the GCC eGovernment Award 2011 at Grand Hyatt Dubai Hotel.

By (WAM)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Mon 25 Jul 2011, 1:08 PM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 6:01 AM

The workshop was aimed at briefing the entities on the GCC eGovernment Award and familiarise them about the rules and other conditions of participation and criteria for selection and evaluation.

A portal http://gcceaward.gia.gov.ae dedicated to the GCC eGovernment Award was launched at the workshop. The portal provides all information relating to the award. Government agencies can send their nominations through the portal.

Salem Khamis Al Shair Al Suwaidi, Director General, Emirates eGovernment, opened the workshop with his welcome speech. He congratulated the participants on the approach of the holy month of Ramadan and thanked them for their interest in participating in and representing the UAE at the second GCC eGovernment Awards to be held from November 13 to 15 in Kuwait.

He expressed his confidence in the federal and local government agencies’ competency to participate in the awards. He added, “The Award will be an ideal opportunity for entities to positively compete for excellence and also get the chance to interact and exchange thoughts with experts from other GCC nations on the subject of eGovernment.”

He advised the government agencies wishing to send their nominations to do so soon in order for the Emirates eGovernment to review their applications and select those that fulfil the entry criteria to be sent for evaluation.

This year, the GCC eGovernment Award will be presented in five categories. These are Best eService, Best eContent, Best Federal Portal, Best Portal in Development Sector and Best G2G Project. The winners will be announced and the awards will be presented at the second GCC eGovernment Conference and Exhibition. The conference is held biennially in one of the GCC countries. The first conference was held in the Sultanate of Oman from December 21 to 23, 2009.

The Jury for the GCC eGovernment Award consists of a representative from each member state of GCC and two members from the international bodies experienced and specialised in the field of Information Technology. The Chairman of the Jury is a personality of international standing with specialisation in the field, with no right to vote in the awards.

More news from