Mohammed honours journalism award winners

Top Stories

Mohammed honours journalism award winners

Shaikh Mohammed honoured the winners of the 9th Arab Journalism Awards at a gala ceremony that marked the conclusion of the Arab Media Forum 2010.

By (Wam)

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Fri 14 May 2010, 10:04 AM

Last updated: Mon 6 Apr 2015, 3:40 PM

His Highness Shaikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, presented the ‘Media Personality of the Year 2009’ award to Abdulla Omran Taryam, chairman of the Board of Directors for the UAE-based Dar Al Khaleej Press, Printing and Publishing. Taryam was selected for his contribution to journalism since the 1950s, when he started his career with his brother Taryam Omran in establishing and developing Al Khaleej newspaper as well as six daily, weekly and monthly publications.

The winners were selected from over 3,500 submissions that the Awards received for all 12 categories from across 19 Arab countries.

Muhyee Aldeen Amaymoor of Algerian newspaper Sawt Al Ahrar received the ‘Best Newspaper Column’ award.

The winners of the Arab Journalism Awards were announced at the close of the two-day 9th Arab Media Forum, which was held at Atlantis, The Palm. Titled ‘Shifting Mediascape: Inspiring Content...Expanding Reach’, the event witnessed the participation of over 2,000 Arab and international journalists, including speakers and attendees.

The Investigative Reporting Award went to Samah Abd Al Mo’ti and Ali Zalat of Masri Al Yoom newspaper for their report on a human organ trafficking network in Egypt.

Naser Al Dhahiri, eminent UAE journalist, awarded the Political Journalism Award to Bahraini newspaper Al Wasat for a report titled ‘Democracy shakes the Middle East’.

Usama Al Sheikh, head of the Egyptian Radio and Television Union, gave away the Cultural Criticism category award to Yahya Al Battat from Dubai Cultural magazine.

Dalia Saudi from Egyptian magazine Wajahat Nathar received the award in the Press Interviews Journalism category for her interview with the French journalist Allan Jreish.

Mohammad Al Jokar of the UAE-based Al Bayan newspaper received the Sports Journalism award.

The Photo Journalism category award was bagged by Khalil Abd Al Qadir, a Palestinian freelance photographer for a photo published in the Lebanese newspaper Al Akhbar.

Hisham Allam and Dareen Farghali of Egyptian newspaper Al Masri Al Yoom received the Specialised Journalism award for a report on pollution of the Nile river.

The Outstanding Cartoon Works award was bagged by Amer Al Zo’bi from Al Bayan. The Economic Journalism award went to Ahmad Al Saba’ai of Ahram newspaper in Egypt.

The Young Talent Journalism award was shared by Zuheir Mustafa of UAE newspaper Emarat Al Youm, Ahmad Dalool of the Press Agency in Palestine and Asma’ Al Ghool of Palestinian newspaper Al Ayam.

More news from