Galaxy of Bollywood stars shine at glittering Zee Awards night in Dubai

DUBAI - It was an ebullient Hrithik Roshan who proved the opinion polls right by bagging the best actor award for his role of a mentally challenged teenager who makes friends with an alien in his home production Koi Mil Gaya at the glittering 2004 Zee Cine Awards ceremony at the Airport Expo in Dubai on Thursday.

By Debasree S.

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sat 28 Feb 2004, 11:43 AM

Last updated: Thu 2 Apr 2015, 2:14 AM

His father, Rakesh Roshan, too walked away with the awards for the best film and the best director for the phenomenal success of Koi Mil Gaya, a sci-fi film that wove magic among millions with the friendly alien Jadu.

In his acceptance speech, a thrilled Hrithik Roshan, who was conferred the award by Rekha, a leading lady of Bollywood of yesteryear, said: "I am thankful to everyone for making this happen to me. This award has made my experience with Koi Mil Gaya all the more spectacular."

In the end, Koi Mil Gaya won five awards - Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Choreography and Special Effects.

Munnabhai MBBS bagged four statuettes, including Upcoming Director, Best Actor in a Comic Role, Dialogue and Cinematography. So did Pinjar, which bagged four trophies - Best Lyricist, Art Direction, Costume Designer and Story.

The Best Actress award went to the Urmila Matondkar for her excellent portrayal of a woman possessed in Ram Gopal Varma's Bhoot. But this was only after two superstars of the year the inimitable Shahrukh Khan and the bubbly Preity Zinta bagged the Pan Parag Zee Cine Superstars of the Year awards.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to one of Bollywood's most successful producers Yash Johar whose films from Dostana to Kuch Kuch Hota Hai left an indelible mark in the minds of the viewers worldwide during the last three decades.

The Best Actor in a Supporting Role came as no surprise with Saif Ali Khan bagging the award. Talented actress of yesteryear Shabana Azmi got the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in Tehzeeb. Arshad Warsi walked away with the award for the Best Actor in a Comic Role.

The Best Soundtrack went to Himesh Reshammiya (Tere Naam) while the Best Song of the year was the title song of Kal Ho Na Ho. The best performance in a villainous was grabbed by Rahul Dev for Footpath while Amrita Preetam was declared the Best Lyricist for the song Charkha Chalati Maa in Pinjar.

Among Bollywood's playback singers it was the turn of Sadhana Sargam to get the award for the film Kuch Naa Kaho Kuch Naa Kaho and Shaan for Suno Na in Jhankar Beats. Coming to the awards that encourage new talent in tinsel town, the coveted award of the Best Female Newcomer went to Bhumika Chawla for Tere Naam and the Best Male Newcomer to Shahid Kapoor for Ishq Vishk. The Best Upcoming Director award was given to Rajkumar Hirani for Munnabhai MBBS, undoubtedly one of the most entertaining movies last year.

Yet another touching feature of the ceremony was the honouring of two Bollywood legends, Amitabh Bachchan with the Golden Grade Award, and Dharmendra for his outstanding contribution to cinema.

The Zee Cine Awards ceremony in Dubai on Thursday evening got together a galaxy of stars who contributed in their own little way to make the evening memorable one for the 6,000 plus audience.

Earlier Karan Johar, one of Bollywood's most successful film-makers and the charming Juhi Chawla set the ball rolling with the announcement of the awards in the popular categories.

Javed Jaffrey, Jon Abraham and Glamour girls Shilpa Shettty and Katrina Kaif too chipped in adding colour and variety to the four hour long programme.

The highlight of the programme was the message of Indo-Pak unity that was underlined by many of the stars who came on stage to receive the awards. The presence of the Pakistani stars like Omar Sharif who paired with his Indian counterpart Shekhar Suman to entertain the audience with their lively brand of humour and the likes of Resham and Reema was a wonderful pointer that Bollywood and Lollywood could initiate peace between the traditionally warring neighbours.

Shahrukh Khan who invited young women from the members of the audience to dance with him in popular numbers from Kal Ho Na Ho like it's the Time To Disco was presented an amount of Dh15,000 by Louis Scotto from meBank.

The heartthrob of millions Shahrukh was, however, his modest self as he donated the entire amount to charity. He, along with his other contemporaries, talked about the emotional bond and the love that has always been there between the people of India and Pakistan. "We always trouble those who we love the most," he observed.

Veteran actor Dharmendra who was applauded for his outstanding contribution to Indian cinema also echoed similar sentiments.

It was Salman Khan's turn next to champion the cause of the poor and the elderly as he auctioned the Zee Cine Award trophy, a 24-carat futuristically designed trophy sponsored by Citigold Corporation for an amount of Dh4.5 lakh.

The Editor-in-Chief of Khaleej Times and Chairman of the Galadari Group of Companies, Mr Mohammed A. R. Galadari, gave away the award for the Best Upcoming Director to Rajkumar Hirani for Munnabhai MBBS. Khaleej Times was one of the sponsors of the grand event.

The huge success of the seventh edition of the Zee Cine Awards and the popular response that it evoked in a place like Dubai is a pointer to the fact that Bollywood has truly turned global, transcending barriers and spreading the message of peace among people of different countries and religions.


Best Film: Koi Mil Gaya

Best Director: Rakesh Roshan (Koi Mil Gaya)

Best Actor: Hrithik Roshan (Koi Mil Gaya)

Best Actress: Urmila Matondkar (Bhoot)

Pan Parag Zee Cine Super Star Male: Shahrukh Khan

Pan Parag Zee Cine Super Star Female: Preity Zinta

Best Actor in Supporting Role: Saif Ali Khan (Kal Ho Na Ho)

Best Actress in Supporting Role: Shabana Azmi (Tehzeeb)

Best Soundtrack: Himesh Reshammiya (Tere Naam)

Best Song of the Year: Kal Ho Na Ho

Best Performance in a Villianous Role: Rahul Dev (Footpath)

Best Performance in a Comic Role: Arshad Warsi (Munnabai MBBS)

Best Lyricist: Amrita Preetam (Pinjar)

Best Singer Male: Shaan (Suno Na - Jhankar Beats)

Best Singer Female: Sadhana Sargam (Kuch Na Kaho)

Best Newcomer Male: Shahid Kapoor (Ishq Vishk)

Best Newcomer Female: Bhumika Chawla (Tere Naam)

Best Upcoming Director: Rajkumar Hirani (Munnabai MBBS)

Golden Grade Award: Amitabh Bachchan

Outstanding contribution to Indian Cinema: Dharmendra

Lifetime Achievement Award: Yash Johar

More news from