Dubai Film Festival Ends on Starry Note

DUBAI — The fifth edition of the Dubai International Film Festival (DIFF) closed on Thursday night with a glittering ceremony attended by His Highness Shaikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai.

By Mary Nammour

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Sun 21 Dec 2008, 1:22 AM

Last updated: Sun 5 Apr 2015, 5:22 PM

Celebrities from the Arab world, Hollywood and Bollywood were on hand to see the fireworks at Bab el Shams Spa and Resort, in the desert and, revellers partied till late hours.

DIFF officials including Abdul Hamid Jumaa and Massoud Amrallah Al Ali in addition to members of the jury handed over the prizes and the Muhr Awards.

The prize winners were: Best Emirati Talent: Haidar Mohammed, maker of Shaabiyat Al Cartoon; Best Emirati Female Filmmaker: Nujoom Al Ghanem.

Best Emirati Filmmaker: Saeed Salmeen Al Murry.

The People’s Choice Award went to Heart of Jenin by Leon Geller and Marcus Vetter.

The Muhr Asia Africa Shorts First Prize went to Young Blood by Chinese Haoloun Shu.

The second prize in the same category went to Everything is OK by Kyrgyzstan’s Akjoltoy Bekbolotov.

The Muhr Asia Africa Special Jury Prize went to Expectations by Mahamat — Saleh Haroun (Chad, South Korea). The Special Jury Prize in the same category went to Survival Song by Chinese Guangyi Yu.

The Muhr Asia Africa Documentaries First Prize went to Mental by Japan’s Kazuhiro Soda and the second place was won by Black Business by Osvalde Lewat (Cameroon).

The Muhr Arabic Shorts First Prize went to La Route Du Nord (The North Road) by Lebanese Filmmaker Carlos Shahine and the special jury honour was given to Bint Mariam by Emirati filmmaker Saeed Salmeen Al Murry. Sae’t Asary (At Day’s End) by Egyptian filmmaker Sherif al Bendary was another winner.

The Muhr Arabic Documentaries First Prize was awarded to Memory of the Cactus: A story of three Palestinian villages by Palestinian Hanna Musleh.

The Special Jury Prize in the same category went to The One Man Village by Lebanese Simon Elo Habre. Second prize here went to Marina of the Zabbaleen by Egyptian Engi Wasef.

More news from