Award-winning staff of civic body honoured

DUBAI - Qassim Sultan, Director-General of Dubai Municipality, said that the contributions of the municipality's staff have been vital in the fast changes witnessed by the city. Mr Sultan was speaking at a ceremony held on Tuesday at the civic body's staff club to honour winners of the Dubai Government Excellence Award, and those who were nominated for the award from the civic body.

By A Staff Reporter

  • Follow us on
  • google-news
  • whatsapp
  • telegram

Published: Thu 1 May 2003, 12:32 PM

Last updated: Wed 1 Apr 2015, 10:58 PM

"A well-qualified human resource is considered to be the strong base and wealth of any city," he said, and added that the municipality was always keen to develop its staff to cope with the changes occurring in different fields.

Dubai Municipality's contribution in transforming Dubai into the most important tourist and commercial hub of the region is a matter of pride," Mr Sultan said.

"The visionary leadership of the President, His Highness Shaikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, and His Highness Shaikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President, Prime Minister and Ruler of Dubai, were the leading lights in achieving these feats," Mr Sultan said.

Dubai Municipality, he noted, is considered to be among the prominent government departments and added that sincere efforts on the part of the civic body staff would definitely reflect on the general appearance of the city.

The honoured employees included those who won the Dubai Government Excellence Award 2002 in different categories as well as those who were nominated for the same from the municipality.

The employees honoured for winning the Dubai Government Excellence Award 2002 were Engineer Nasser Ahmed Saeed, Director of the Roads Department, who received the Distinguished Government Employee Award, and members of the committee for implementing thermal insulation systems who were chosen as the distinguished administrative team including Mattar Al Tayer, Adnan Sharafi, AbdulRahman Sharafi, Mohammed Al Touhidi, Mohammed Mashroom, Yousuf Murad, Mustafa AbdulHalim, Ali Alyan, Ibrahim Al Husseini and Ibrahim Majdi.

The honoured employees also included Jamal Mohammed Hassan, who was chosen as the "hidden soldier" as part of the awards, for his service to the public.

Several other employees, who were nominated from the civic body for the awards, including Adnan Sharafi, Arif Ahli, Reda Salman, Samira AbdulRauf Al Awar, Essa Al Ghaffari, Qamar Redha Fadhil, Aliya Ibrahim Al Asad, Mattar Al Tayer, Mohammed Julfar, Abdulla Al Shaibani, Talal Khouri, Mohammed Mashroom, Badr Al Qarqawi, Sultan Al Ghafaili, Omar Bin Eid, Mohammed Al Awar, Ahmed Mahmoud, Reyadh Al Mahmood, Khalid Al Munayyir, Dr. Wael Ababna, Mustafa Habib, Rashad Bukhash, Mohammed Al Ali, Mansour Al Dabal, Essam Mustafa, Ziyad Taha, Mohammed Al Fardan and Makiya Al Hajri, were also felicitated on the occasion.

More news from