48 poets will be selected for Million's Poet contest

ABU DHABI — From thousands of applicants, 48 poets will be selected for the final competition of the Million's Poet.


Silvia Radan

Published: Wed 2 Jul 2008, 1:24 AM

Last updated: Sun 5 Apr 2015, 5:59 PM

The Dh77-million show, under the patronage of General Shaikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, is being produced by Pyramedia and will be aired on Abu Dhabi TV.

"The launch of the Million's Poet programme aims to promote cultural and literary heritage in the city of Abu Dhabi, a pioneering cultural centre in the region. It also reflects the importance of poetry and its association with memory, history and originality in the region, touching us with its simple, everyday language that reflects our lives and dreams in a manner other forms of poetry don't," said Mohammed Khalaf Al Mazrouei, director-general of the Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage, the main organiser of the event.

He further explained that the Million's Poet focuses on Nabati (traditional Bedouin) poetry, while the Prince of Poets, another famous poetry competition in Abu Dhabi, is orientated towards classical Arabic poetry.

After Ramadan,the judges will start a six-week tour of the Gulf, starting with Qatar, than Bahrain, Kuwait, Jeddah and Riyadh in Saudi Arabia, Oman and ending in Abu Dhabi, where they will choose the 48 finalists.

The winners of the competition will be selected by both the jury panel and the audience, through a voting system.

The judges include Sultan Al Amini, UAE writer and specialist in Nabati poetry, history and culture; Turki Al Murikhi, Saudi Arabian publisher and organiser of poetry evenings; Hamad Al Saeed, chief editor of the poetry magazine Al Wodouh, Kuwait; Dr Ghassan Hassan, Arab linguist and publisher of Nabati poetry from Jordan; and Badr Sefoug, Kuwaiti poet.

At the request of Shaikh Mohammed, the cash awards for this season of Million's Poet are higher then impression years, totalling Dh22 million, with the first five winners being awarded Dh5 million, Dh4 million, Dh3 million, Dh2 million and Dh1 million, respectively.

More news from