Enjoy our faster App experience

Team Biden: Know who will run the new US administration

Washington - Here are some of the people Biden has called on to run the US government.

By Reuters

Published: Wed 20 Jan 2021, 8:11 AM

Last updated: Wed 20 Jan 2021, 8:20 AM

Democratic President-elect Joe Biden has selected people for his Cabinet, his White House team and other top jobs in his administration ahead of being sworn into office on Wednesday.

Here are some of the people Biden has called on to run the US government.

Director of CIA: William Burns

During more than three decades as a US diplomat, including as deputy secretary of state under President Barack Obama, Burns honed specialties in Russia and the Middle East and was ambassador to Russia.

Attorney-General: Merrick Garland

A federal appeals court judge since 1997, Garland was nominated by Obama for the US Supreme Court in 2016, but Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell refused to consider the nomination in a presidential election year.

Secretary of Commerce: Gina Raimondo

The Democratic governor of Rhode Island and a lawyer with a background in venture capital, Raimondo has launched successful workforce training programmes in her state.

Secretary of Labour: Marty Walsh

Elected as mayor of Boston in 2013, Walsh has backed both a $15 minimum wage and paid family leave. He has said he wants to expand union membership.

Secretary of State: Antony Blinken

The longtime Biden confidant served as No. 2 at the State Department and as deputy national security adviser in Obama’s administration.

Secretary of the Treasury: Janet Yellen

The former Federal Reserve chair will be the country’s first woman to serve as treasury secretary if confirmed.

Secretary of Defence: Llloyd Austin

Austin, who oversaw US forces in the Middle East under Obama, would be the first Black US secretary of defence if the Senate confirms him. He retired in 2016 and would need a waiver from Congress to take the post, as he has been out of the military less than the required seven years.

Secretary of Transportation: Pete Buttigieg

Buttigieg is the former mayor of South Bend, Indiana, and was one of Biden’s rivals for the Democratic presidential nomination.

Secretary of Agriculture: Tom Vilsack

Vilsack led the US Department of Agriculture under Obama.

Secretary of Housing and Urban Development: Marcia Fudge

Fudge has served in the House of Representatives since 2008. If confirmed, Fudge would be the second Black woman to lead HUD.

Secretary of Education: Miguel Cardona

Naming Cardona, currently the education commissioner for Connecticut and a former teacher, fulfils Biden’s pledge to choose a professional educator to lead the Education Department.

Secretary of the Interior: Deb Haaland

Haaland, a Democratic congresswoman from New Mexico since 2019, would be the first Native American Cabinet secretary and the first to oversee the department, whose jurisdiction includes tribal lands.

Secretary of Energy: Jennifer Granholm

Granholm served as the first female governor of Michigan, from 2003 to 2011.

Secretary of Veterans Affairs: Denis McDonough

McDonough was the White House chief of staff during Obama’s second term and also served as Obama’s deputy national security adviser.

Secretary of Homeland Security: Alejandro Mayorkas

The Cuban-born lawyer will be the first Latino and first immigrant to head the department if confirmed. As head of Citizenship and Immigration Services under Obama, Mayorkas led implementation of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program for “Dreamers” - people who were brought to the United States as children.

Secretary of Health and Human Services: Xavier Becerra

The California attorney-general was previously a 12-term congressman who played a key role in passing the Affordable Care Act in Congress.

Securities and Exchange Commission Chair: Gary Gensler

The former Goldman Sachs banker was chair of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission from 2009 to 2014, and since November has led Biden’s transition planning for financial industry oversight.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau director: Rohit Chopra

Federal Trade Commission member Chopra helped progressive Senator Elizabeth Warren set up the bureau and served as its first student loan ombudsman.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention director: Rochelle Walensky

Walensky is currently the chief of infectious diseases at Massachusetts General Hospital and

Coronavirus coordinator: Jeff Zients

Zients will oversee an unprecedented operation to distribute hundreds of millions of doses of a new vaccine, coordinating efforts across multiple federal agencies.

Surgeon General: Vivek Murthy

A physician and former surgeon general, Murthy gained prominence in recent months as co-chairman of Biden’s advisory board dealing with the coronavirus pandemic.

More news from Americas