Wknd. KTBuzzon Inspired Living Indulge City Times KT Mobile KT ePaper KT Competitions Subscribe KT
Khaleej Times Google Plus Page Khaleej Times Facebook Page Khaleej Times Twitter Page Khaleej Times on Instagram
  Inspired Living
  Parent Talk
  Used Cars
Sport Home > Nation
Kerala League from Dec. 6

Moni Mathews / 15 November 2012

UAE-based Willows Cricket Club will host the inaugural Kerala Cricket League Season 1 Twenty20 cricket tournament from Dec.6 at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium, according to a Press release.

The celebrity-packed event will field the finest cricket talent from the UAE and the Gulf region, who will battle it out in 16 teams. The grand finale will be held on Dec.31.

Mazhar Khan, S K Nair, Paul Ninan, Rajesh Pillai, Anil Kumar, Ali Anwar Jaffri and Abdul Kalam during the Press conference. — Supplied photo

Announcing the Kerala Cricket League 2012 at a press conference, S.K. Nair, former secretary and treasurer of the Board of Control for Cricket in India and head of the advisory panel for the tournament, said: “The Twenty20 format of cricket has gained mass acceptance internationally. Kerala Cricket League

– Season 1 is doing a noble service in promoting the cricketing talent in the UAE, a country that has established its leadership in world cricket by hosting first-class cricket tournaments.”

Rajesh Pillai of Willows Cricket Club said: “Cricket has been a passion for all of us at Willows Cricket Club. Several of the members have been earlier associated with the Willows Cricket Club in Thiruvananthapuram, which has played an instrumental role in promoting cricketing talent in Kerala. We are now bringing the frenzy that is associated with Twenty20 cricket by giving it a true local spin by hosting 16 teams drawn from cricket talent in the UAE.”

Anil Kumar of Willows Cricket Club, added: “The UAE offers a solid growth environment to promote youth cricketing talent. A number of celebrities from cricket and film have expressed their interest to be part of the event, and we will announce the line-up of the celebrities to attend the tournament shortly.”

The Kerala Cricket League – Season 1 will comprise 16 teams that will be divided into four groups. The winners and runners-up in the league stage will fight it out in the quarter finals, followed by a knock-out stage with four winners meeting in the semi-finals. The two winners then march into the finals, set to showcase the finest cricketing talent in the region, battling it out for the coveted Kerala Cricket League Trophy.

All the technical aspects of conducting the tourney will be taken care by a committee headed by Mazhar Khan, hon. secretary of Sharjah Cricket Council.

The winner of League will take home along with a gold trophy and cash prize of Dh60,000 The runner-up will be awarded a silver trophy and cash prize of Dh30,000 All the matches will be played under floodlights from 6pm. Other partners that have come on board for the event are Sharjah Cricket Council and Hit 96.7 FM.

comments powered by Disqus
Khaleej Times Sports
Today's Print Edition
Today's Print Edition
Read Khaleej Times Print Edition online.
KT Apps
Android Devices

Apple iPhone