Wknd. KTBuzzon Inspired Living Indulge City Times KT Mobile KT ePaper KT Competitions Subscribe KT
Khaleej Times
Khaleej Times Google Plus Page Khaleej Times Facebook Page Khaleej Times Twitter Page Khaleej Times on Instagram
  Inspired Living
  Parent Talk
  Used Cars
Home > Personality
Shihab Ghanem receives Tagore Peace Award

(Wam) / 8 May 2013

Dr Shihab Ghanem is the first Arab national to be awarded the prestigious international Tagore Peace Award by the Asiatic Society.

The award was presented to the UAE poet, translator of poetry and writer, at an award ceremony held on the occasion of the 230th Annual General Meeting of the Asiatic Society in Kolkata, India, on Monday.

Dr Shihab Ghanem after receiving the Tagore Peace Award. — WamA dinner party was hosted later to honour Dr Ghanem at the Saturday’s Club. The dinner was attended by the former speaker of the West Bengal State Assembly Mr Hashim Abdul Halim, the former Vice-Chancellor of Vishwa Bharti Dr Sujit Basu, the Society’s General Secretary K.C. Chakravarty, and a number of prominent personalities, intellectuals  and guests.

The Asiatic Society was founded in 1784, and is an Institution of National Importance declared by an Act of Indian Parliament.

The Tagore Peace award has been given to Dr Shihab Ghanem in recognition of his significant contribution to the development of Human Understanding towards peace based on lofty ideals of humanism and pacifism of Rabindra Nath Tagore.

This award is given once every two years to one person only, and has been received so far by nine prominent persons, namely Japanese Buddhist philosopher, peace builder and recipient of the World Peace Poet Award Dr Daisaku Ikeda, Indian President of World Poetry Society in Chennai Dr Krishna Srinivas and Nelson Mandela, ex-President of South Africa, Nobel Peace Laureate 1993 along with Meghabati Sukarnapootri ex-President of Indonesia.

Moreover, it was given to Dr Amartya Sen, Indian professor at Oxford, Cambridge and Harvard, Nobel Economics Laureate in 1998, Prof Kabir Chowdhury, Bengali academician and peace activist, Dr Joseph Stigliz American professor at Columbia, Nobel Economics Laureate, 2001, Prof Arun Kumar Sharma, Indian Professor of Botany, Kolkata University.

For more news from Khaleej Times, follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/khaleejtimes, and on Twitter at @khaleejtimes

comments powered by Disqus