Wknd. KTBuzzon Inspired Living Indulge City Times KT Mobile KT ePaper KT Competitions Subscribe KT
Khaleej Times
Khaleej Times Google Plus Page Khaleej Times Facebook Page Khaleej Times Twitter Page Khaleej Times on Instagram
  Inspired Living
  Parent Talk
  Used Cars
Home > Nation Archive
Print this story
Six Finalists for Arabic Fiction Award

/ 16 December 2009

ABU DHABI — The finalists for the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2010, a prestigious literary award for contemporary Arabic fiction was announced on Tuesday at the Beirut International Book Fair in Lebanon.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi on March 2, 2010, the first day of the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair.

According to Taleb Alrefai, chair of judges for the 2010 prize, the six finalists include Muhammad Al Mansi Qindeel (Egypt) for  his book A Cloudy Day on the West Side, Mansoura Ez Eldin (Egypt) for Beyond Paradise, Rabee Jabir (Lebanon) for America, Abdo Khal (Saudi Arabia) for She Throws Sparks, Rabai’ Madhoun (Palestine) for The Lady from Tel Aviv and Jamal Naji (Jordan) for When the Wolves Grow Old.

The panel of judges were experts from Kuwait, Egypt, Tunisia, France and Oman in the field of Arabic literature

The prestigious literary prize, now in its third year, aims to recognise and reward excellence in contemporary Arabic creative writing and to encourage wider readership of such Arabic literature internationally through translation. It is run with the support of the Emirates Foundation and the Booker PrizeFoundation.

The 2010 prize received 115 eligible submissions from 17 Arab countries which include Egypt, Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, Palestine, Iraq, UAE, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Bahrain, Oman, Morocco, Libya, Sudan, Tunisiaand Algeria.

The shortlisted finalists each receive $10,000 as prize money, with the winner receiving an additional $50,000. The authors can look forward to reaching wider audiences and potentially securing publishing deals for their books both in the Arab world and internationally.

Previous two winners for the prize — Bahaa Taher (Sunset Oasis) and Youssef Ziedan (Azazel) — have not only secured English publications of their novels in the UK, through Sceptre (Hodder and Stoughton) and Atlantic Books respectively, but also a number of international deals as a result of the prize.


Print this story
comments powered by Disqus